Video of Xi'an

FUSION 2017 Awards

The Fusion 2017 organization team is delighted to offer

  • the ISIF 2017 Jean-Pierre Le Cadre Best Paper Award (winning paper and two runners-up)
  • and the ISIF 2017 Tammy Blair Best Student Paper Award (winning paper and two runners-up).

The International Society for Information Society (ISIF) offers

  • the ISIF 2017 Yaakov Bar-Shalom Award for a Lifetime of Excellence in Information Fusion
  • and the ISIF 2017 Young Investigator Award.

All awards will be presented at the Fusion 2017 Gala Dinner in the evening of Wednesday, July 12.

ISIF 2017 Jean-Pierre Le Cadre Best Paper Award

"Generalized Optimal Sub-Pattern Assignment Metric"

Abu Sajana Rahmathullah1, Angel Garcia-Fernandez2, Lennart Svensson3

1Zenuity AB, Sweden, 2Aalto University, Finland, 3Chalmers University, Sweden

First Runner-up:

"Target Motion Analysis with Unknown Measurement Noise Variance"

Branko Ristic1,2,Xuezhi Wang1, Sanjeev Arulampalam2

1RMIT University, Australia, 2Defence Science and Technology, Australia

Second Runner-up:

"Maximum Likelihood Detection on Images"

B. Balasingam1, Y. Bar-Shalom2, P. Willett2, K. Pattipati2

1University of Windsor, Canada, 2University of Connecticut, USA

ISIF 2017 Tammy Blair Best Student Paper Award

"Dual-Satellite Source Geolocation with Time and Frequency Offsets and Satellite Location Errors"

Chao Liu1,Le Yang2, Lyudmila Mihaylova1

1University of Sheffield, UK, 2Jiangnan University, P.R. China

First Runner-up:

"Student-t Process Quadratures for Filtering of Non-Linear Systems with Heavy-Tailed Noise"

Jakub Pr¨¹her1, Filip Tronarp2, Toni Karvonen2, Simo S?rkk?2, Ond?ej Straka1

1University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic, 2Aalto University, Finland

Second Runner-up:

"Gradient-Based Recursive Maximum Likelihood Identification of Jump Markov Non-Linear Systems"

Andre R. Braga1 , Carsten Fritsche2, Fredrik Gustafsson2, Marcelo Bruno3

1Federal University of Ceara, Brazil, 2Link?ping University, 3Aeronautics Institute of Technology, Brazil

ISIF 2017 Yaakov Bar-Shalom Award for a Lifetime of Excellence in Information Fusion

This award is sponsored by the International Society for Information Fusion (ISIF) to recognize a researcher or engineer for outstanding contributions to the field of information fusion throughout their career. Contributions include technical advances, technical vision and leadership, education and mentoring, novel applications of information fusion and the associated engineering achievements, and service to ISIF. This award may be given annually, if outstanding candidates are nominated, but it is expected to be given at least once every 3 years because individuals with the anticipated level of contributions to information fusion throughout a career will be rare. The award will be presented at the annual International Conference on Information Fusion. For more information see http://isif.org/isif-yaakov-bar-shalom-award-lifetime-excellence-information-fusion

ISIF 2017 Young Investigator Award

This annual award is sponsored by the International Society of Information Fusion (ISIF). The purpose of this award is to grant international recognition for outstanding contributions to the art of information fusion by a young ISIF member. The goals of the ISIF in granting this award are to encourage individual effort and to foster increased participation by developing researchers and engineers. This ISIF award consists of a commemorative recognition plaque and travel grant to receive the award. The ISIF Young Investigator Award will be honored at the annual International Conference on Information Fusion. For more information, see http://isif.org/isif-young-investigator-award

Special Awards of FUSION Conference's 20th Anniversary

FUSION 2017 has a set of special awards for the 20th anniversary. For more information, see http://www.fusion2017.org/Awards_of_20_years.html

Awards Committee

The awards at Fusion 2017 are selected by an Awards Committee headed by the two Awards Chairs


  • Erik Blasch
  • Stefano Coraluppi
  • Felix Govaers
  • Lance Kaplan
  • Wolfgang Koch
  • Mahendra Mallick

Awards selection rules and process

Rules Used:

  • 1. It is paramount that the paper awards be free of all conflict of interest, both real and perceived. So any paper authored or coauthored by anyone who is involved in any phase of the selection process is not eligible. These people include awards chairs, technical chairs, awards committee members, and general chairs.
  • 2. The selection process should be reasonably robust against manipulation. So, there should be two awards chairs, their major decisions should be approved by general chairs, and general chairs should not be involved with any concrete selection decisions.
  • 3. For the selection process, it is desirable to have more independent and more diverse inputs, and so reviewers, technical chairs, awards chairs, and awards committee should all play some roles. Their roles are better to be more independent, and thus it is better not to have a person with multiple roles here (e.g., a technical chair on the awards committee)
  • 4. The above rules are made clear to people involved as early as possible and are set before the selection process begins.

Process Used:

  • 1. Awards chairs propose an awards committee of at least five members. General chairs approve the committee.
  • 2. Technical chairs design a scheme and by it obtain a list of a few dozens of candidate papers (43 this year) based on reviewers' scores of all accepted papers.
  • 3. Given the above list, awards chairs propose replacements of those awards committee members who are authors/co-authors of any candidate papers above. General chairs approve the replacements.
  • 4. Awards chairs narrow down the above list to 12 papers by their own judgments knowing reviewers inputs (scores, reviews).
  • 5. Awards committee members vote for the six awards (rank the 12 papers) based on their own judgments without knowing reviewers inputs.
  • 6. Awards chairs design a scheme to identify the recipients of the best (student) paper awards, first runners-up, and second runners-up based solely on awards committee members' rankings. General chairs approve the scheme. Awards chairs apply the scheme to select the recipients of all the awards. General chairs approve the selections.